Skip to content

Home!

October 30, 2016

Yes. I am home. And so glad to be so. Just to get a hot shower, wash my hair and be in my own bed was such a blessing.

I first went into the hospital on September 9th – and here it is Halloween! Good grief! I’ve lost so much time. Never in my wildest imagination did I think all this would happen. As a matter of fact, when I first met with my surgeon, I said something along the lines of, “Let’s pop this tumor out and get on with life.” I remembered his face! He smiled as if to say, “You naive woman.” How true.

You don’t just “pop” a tumor out of your spinal column!! There is bone to be cut and nerves to be manipulated and tissue to be cut… No. It didn’t “pop” out. I am wiser now. And so very grateful for a well-trained surgeon and his team. Not to mention the good hospital care and nurses, many of whom identified as believers. Such comfort to me. Like having family care for me.

My daughters were there at the beginning but had to go back home…and I assured them they couldn’t really do anything for me. While I would enjoy their presence, I couldn’t really be present myself due to the horrible headaches.

When it was time to go home – two weeks later – my lovely assistant, Krista, drove down to fetch me, feed me and take me home. My daughters arrived shortly and made sure I was well situated and then proceeded to tell me what I could and couldn’t do! They love bossing me! (I have decided they both have control issues!)

So…I begin the slow process of recovery and look forward to feeling better. Again, thank you for your prayers – it means so much to me to know that folks are praying for me.

All is well.

This morning as I read my Daily Light, I read, Lamentations 3:26, “It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait…” So this is a period of waiting quietly before God. But hopefully waiting. There is a difference. Just waiting can be discouraging and lead to defeat. But hopefully Then I read, II Chronicles 20:17, “Ye shall not need to fight in this battle…” That is something I need to learn. Not all battles are meant to fight. Choose well the battles and which hill to die on.

During this time I am reading, slowly, Mark Batterson’s, Chase the Lion. Excellent. I recommend it heartily.

Again, thanks for praying and caring.

No comments yet

Leave a comment