Skip to content

Today’s Health Care

September 28, 2016

Well, I am 2.5 weeks out of surgery, back home, healing well and even doing exercise! I am weak…need to build strength.

Three weeks ago the doctors removed  benign cyst from my lower spinal canal – called a “L5 laminectomy and resection of intramural schawnnoma”.

Afterward, I did have a spinal fluid leak – not fun. Had to lay flat for 3 days. Then they suspected a blood clot but nothing came of it. They told me perhaps I had an “angry nerve” – not sure what that meant or why it got angry 5 days after the fact. The doctor told me nerves were moved and displaced by the removal of the cyst (the size of a man’s thumb). But I still couldn’t get hold of the low-grade fever that showed up each evening with chills and aches.

In all of this, I never talked directly to my doctor – only through others.

Finally, my PCP ordered a urinalysis. Ah ha! I had a raging UTI.

Now I am on the mend and eager to get on with life! The PT and OT come regularly to put me through my paces and I try to supplement their time with my own efforts. I do have a low back pain and my biggest concern is strength – I’ve lost so much in such a short time.

My children were and are terrific.  The girls were/are wonderful. Both had fun teasing me and threatening to “blackmail” me with photographs taken when I was asleep! but they drove back and forth to Richmond granting my every wish. Graham doesn’t like hospital settings but he was at home putting in a new higher level toilet in and a light over my bed. He’s a whiz at doing those sort of things.

My hospital experience reflected our new health care system. Impersonal. Ugly.  Many were insensitive and inexperienced. (Not my grandfather’s hospital.) Finally, I told them they could not do what they were suggesting. The nurse’s eyes got big but she knew I’d had enough! It took me days to get over just the ineptness of the hospital staff.

Anyway, as I said, I think it reflects the changes in medical care.

My doctor was wonderful and skilled. I am grateful for him and so far, Medicare is covering it all. So I am thankful and appreciative.

We still have the best medical care in the world in this country.

It will be 6-9 months before we will know how well the surgery worked – when you mess around with nerves it takes time for them to settle down. I’m on my way!!

When I wrote last, I said I was in God’s hands. I trusted that fact and was reassured. He kept me safe. The morning of the surgery, I read , I the God of Israel will not forsake thee.” (Ps. 8:10)  and “When I said My foot slippeth; Thy mercy O Lord, held me up.” (Ps. 94.18)

One night I was in so much pain I just leaned against the wall, imagining the Lord was holding me in His arms, and I told Him, “Father I am your daughter. I need your help.” And He came to my relief. His promises are true – they can be trusted. “I cried to Thee for help, and Thou dids’t heal me.” (Ps. 30: 2) That does not mean every time He helps as we want and expect – a subject for another blog!

Thank you for your prayers, notes and concerns. God bless you!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2016 7:10 pm

    Wonderful News! Praying for continued healing and His strength. GOD IS GOOD!!! GLENDA ROZEBOOM

  2. watchnlvschng permalink
    September 29, 2016 8:28 am

    What a blessing for good doctors and being on the mend. Praying you know healing results sooner rather that later. God’s work in your life is an inspiration. (Friend/Blog Follower from The Cove)

  3. Lydia Barrows permalink
    October 6, 2016 6:21 am

    Thankful you are on the mend…. so disappointed in the current medical field that has more restrictions than relationship that is so needed when so vulnerable. I am so proud of your kids for being there for you and helping you where you needed help – love, Lydia

Leave a comment